Find Local Businesses in Mayes County Oklahoma

Mayes County Oklahoma

Search the online directory for business listings in Mayes County Oklahoma and surrounding area.

Number of companies


Number of categories


Mayes County, Oklahoma Facts:

Featured Categories in Names and Numbers

Mayes County History

Mayes County was officially formed at statehood (1907) and was named in honor of Samuel Houston Mayes, who served the Cherokee Nation as principal chief from 1895 to 1899. The area has a rich history of French and Native American occupation, with Major Jean Pierre Chouteau, an Osage Indian trader, establishing the state's first white settlement in 1820 at present-day Salina. In 1828, members of the Western Cherokee Nation arrived in the area, and in 1841, present-day Mayes County became part of the Saline District of the Cherokee Nation.

Today, and in the past, Mayes County has relied on agriculture as a primary economic activity. Crops like corn, soybeans, sorghum, and hay have been important, along with cattle and dairy farming. Industry has also played an important role with the 1941 opening of the Oklahoma Ordnance Works, a munitions plant operated by DuPont. The plant was closed after World War II and then converted into the Mid-America Industrial Park in 1960. This manufacturing plant produced cement, fertilizer, and paper.

Mayes County Attractions

Mayes County maintains a variety of attractions including:

Popular Businesses Near

Strang Fire Dept logo

Strang Fire Dept

Names and Numbers Verified Fire Departments
Peggs, OK
S & J Plumbing logo

S & J Plumbing

Names and Numbers Verified Gas Lines - Installation & Repairing Mini Storage Plumbers Plumbing - Drains & Sewer Cleaning Plumbing Contractors
Pryo, OK
Chouteau Public Library logo

Chouteau Public Library

Names and Numbers Verified Libraries
Green, OK
Salina Post Office logo

Salina Post Office

Names and Numbers Verified Post Offices
Sali, OK

Popular Categories