Picture for article "Lewis-Clark Valley"

Lewis-Clark Valley

Lewis-Clark Valley, Idaho Facts:

  • Counties: Idaho - Nez Perce; Washington - Asotin
  • Coverage Area (Total): 1,497.36 sq. miles
  • Population: 61,198
  • Cities/Towns covered in local Names and Numbers Phone Book: Idaho – Ahsahka, Cottonwood, Craigmont, Culdesac, Ferdinand, Genesee, Grangeville, Greencreek, Harpster, Juliaetta, Kamiah, Kendrick, Keuterville, Kooskia, Lapwai, Lenore, Leon, Lewiston, Nezperce, Orofino, Peck, Pierce, Reubens, Stites, Weippe, Winchester; Washington – Anatone, Asotin, Clarkston, Colton, Pomeroy, Uniontown; Oregon – Flora, Troy

Lewis-Clark Valley History

Lewiston, Idaho and Clarkston, Washington are the two primary cities encompassing the Lewis-Clark Valley area. These cities were named in honor of the Lewis & Clark Expedition during their journey to the Pacific Ocean in the early 1800s. They lie at the confluence of the Snake and Clearwater Rivers some 465 river miles inland.

Today, Lewiston and Clarkston are known as the gateway to Hells Canyon National Recreation Area. Also known as the "Banana Belt of the Pacific Northwest," the mild weather in the Lewis-Clark Valley area allows for extensive year-round outdoor activities. The area has been noted in numerous national "best" lists, including Best Place to Live for Access to Hunting & Fishing (Outdoor Life Magazine) and One of the Best Waterfront Towns to Live In (National Geographic Magazine).

Lewis-Clark Valley Attractions

Lewis-Clark Valley maintains a variety of attractions including:

You might also like